Dev Update 01-19-2020

Greetings folks. Quick update.

As was discussed on the previous post, I am confirming 2 things.

1. Yes we will use LXDE

• My previous resistance to going with it for something new was mainly in the fact that it has been clearly stated that LXQT is the path forward. But after some analysis, playing with both, I can safely say I still prefer LXDE. Cannot seem to connect to LXQT. I feel safe enough that both are still being worked (albeit one slower than the other for obvious reasons)
  2. Yes there will be a i3 window manager version.

• Personally I have been using i3 as a primary UI for nearly 10 years.I made the switch for my own use back in 2011 or 12 (cannot remember exactly honestly) and as is well documented, when a tiling WM clicks, its hard to go back. Its an efficient low memory way to work. Its not everyones cup of tea however, and I understand that, so we will obviously keep both. There are also times when a traditional desktop works better (games is one example) and programs that you have to fiddle with to behave properly on a tiling window manager. Almost every system I use has i3, then some other window manager for the occasion that its just faster to switch briefly to do whatever you need rather than jumping in and messing with a config on an airplane with no sleep. When doing core work however I am a very happy i3 user, and rarely have a problem that I cannot adjust to stay in i3.
  3. What other core packages should we make sure are installed by default?